SUBSCRIBE TO NEWSLETTER!
 
 
Facebook Social Button Twitter Social Button Follow Us on InstagramYouTube Social Button Follow Me on Pinterest
NewsVideosLive ScoresTV ListingsTournamentsRankingsLucky Letcord PodcastMagazine

Popular This Week

Net Notes - A Tennis Now Blog

Net Posts

Industry Insider - A Tennis Now Blog

Industry Insider

Second Serve - A Tennis Now Blog

Second Serve

 

Video: How the Stars Shape Up For Summer


The end of grass-court season signals the start of training time for many players.

Transitioning from the lower bounces of lawn tennis to the grittier hard courts and heat of the North American summer season requires practice and preparation.

Have you noticed several pros are getting pretty creative in their cross-training pursuits?

Here are some of our favorites from recent weeks.

We know Venus Williams floats like a butterfly on court, looks like Vee can sting like a Bee in the ring, too.


 

Yeah, it's like that. #jambajuice #tko no #jazzhands

A photo posted by Venus Williams (@venuswilliams) on



Thanasi Kokkinakis, a frequent practice and sometime doubles partner of Andy Murray, knows the training ropes.


 

A few ropes on a Saturday #hustle ✔️ @rawz3

A photo posted by Thanasi Kokkinakis (@the_kokk1) on



Donna Vekic turns the rocky Monaco coast into an obstacle climbing course.


 

Not a bad view this morning for fitness!! #backtowork #Monaco 😅💪🏻💧🌞🏃🏼🌊 🚤

A photo posted by Donna Vekic (@donnavekic) on


We've seen the punishing accuracy of Rafael Nadal's left arm. He's on target with his left foot, too.


 

Jugando con mis primos a fútbol! Playing football with my cousins!

A video posted by Rafa Nadal (@rafaelnadal) on



Kristina Mladenovic learned at an early age to keep her eyes—and feet—on the ball.


 


Walking to the lounge gives Garbine Muguruza time to get her kicks in.


 



Warning to all potential practice partners of Nick Kyrgios: Do not turn your back on this man when he's armed with a ball. Ouch.

 



Sloane Stephens shows old-school skills —and strong shoulders —in her approach.

 

back to work @underarmour @underarmourwomen 💪🏽

A video posted by Sloane Stephens (@sloanestephens) on



The Grigor Dimitrov workout (designed for multi-taskers): clean-up the environment, clear your lungs and recycle used tires simultaneously.


 

Just bumped into this old school session! #earlybird

A photo posted by Grigor Dimitrov (@grigordimitrov) on



Nebraska Cornhusker fan Jack Sock fuses his two inspirations—football and the iditarod—into action.


 

good day in the office 🙌🏻 #mondays

A video posted by Jack Sock (@jack.sock) on



How come opponents find it so hard to knock off Serena Williams? The world No. 1 is a skilled tumbler who always seems to land on her feet.


 

Yup

A video posted by Serena Williams (@serenawilliams) on



Let's not forget about champions rehabbing from injuries.


Posted: