Facebook Social Button Twitter Social Button Follow Us on InstagramYouTube Social Button Follow Me on Pinterest
NewsVideosLive ScoresTV ListingsTournamentsRankings

Popular This Week

Net Notes - A Tennis Now Blog

Net Posts

Industry Insider - A Tennis Now Blog

Industry Insider

Second Serve - A Tennis Now Blog

Second Serve


Three years after its inaugural season, the International Premier Tennis League won't be playing this season and its future is uncertain.

Financial struggles—including some players not being paid—as well as declining attendance created challenges for the IPTL, an elite exhibition competition featuring both men and women.

Wawrinka: Disappointed in Norman's Departure

The league, which launched its first season with four teams in 2014, has not officially folded.

League founder and former doubles standout Mahesh Bhupathi hopes to introduce a streamlined version of the IPTL based in one country, according to The Straits Times.

“Its early days, but the IPTL definitely has a regular place for our sport,” said Roger Federer during the league's debut season. “To have more interaction, more fun, different rules, you bend it, customize so it works for everybody involved. It’s a very interesting concept.”

The league launched in 2014 with these prominent players on the four rosters:

Bangkok - Andy Murray, Victoria Azarenka, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, Carlos Moya, Daniel Nestor, Kirsten Flipkens.

Dubai - Novak Djokovic, Caroline Wozniacki, Goran Ivanisevic, Janko Tipsarevic, Nenad Zimonjic, Martina Hingis, Malek Jaziri.

Mumbai - Rafael Nadal, Pete Sampras, Ana Ivanovic, Gael Monfils, Rohan Bopanna, Sania Mirza, Fabrice Santoro.

Singapore - Andre Agassi, Serena Williams, Tomas Berdych, Lleyton Hewitt, Patrick Rafter, Daniela Hantuchova, Bruno Soares, Nick Kyrgios.

Photo credit IPTL