Facebook Social Button Twitter Social Button Follow Us on InstagramYouTube Social Button Follow Me on Pinterest
NewsVideosScoresTV ListingsTournamentsRankingsLucky Letcord PodcastMagazine

By Chris Oddo | @TheFanChild | Sunday July 18, 2021

Matteo Berrettini has become the latest top-ranked player to be forced out of the Tokyo Olympics. The 2021 Wimbledon runner-up, currently ranked No.8 in the world, announced that he will miss the Olympics due to a thigh injury.

Tennis Express

“I am extremely disappointment to announce my withdrawal from the Tokyo Olympic Games,” Berrettini wrote on Instagram. “I had an MRI scan yesterday on the thigh injury I sustained during Wimbledon and was informed I will not be able to compete for a couple of weeks. Representing Italy is the biggest honour for me so it is devastating to miss the Olympics. I wish the entire Italian team the best of luck in Tokyo. I will be supporting you all the way.”

Berrettini Makes Five ATP Top-10 Players Out of Tokyo

The Italian joins World No.3 Rafael Nadal, World No.6 Dominic Thiem, World No.9 Roger Federer and World No.10 Denis Shapovalov on the Tokyo sidelines.

Of the ATP’s current rankings (as of July 12, 2021), 13 Top-25 players will miss the Olympics, for various reasons. The women have a higher participation rate, but they have been hit by withdrawals as well, with World No. 3 Simona Halep, World No.5 Bianca Andreescu, World No.6 Sofia Kenin,  World No.14 Victoria Azarenka, World No.16 Serena Williams and World No.22 Angelique Kerber all opting out.

Here is our updated list of Olympic opt-outs:

WTA Players missing

No. 3 Simona Halep
No.5 Bianca Andreescu
No. 6 Sofia Kenin
No.14 Victoria Azarenka
No. 16 Serena Williams
No.22 Angelique Kerber
No. 27 Madison Keys
No.31 Daria Kasatkina
No.32 Petra Martic
No.37 Sorana Cirstea
No.38 Johanna Konta
No. 56 Jil Teichmann
No.96 Clara Tauson


No. 3 Rafael Nadal
No. 6 Dominic Thiem
No.8 Matteo Berrettini
No.9 Roger Federer
No. 10 Denis Shapovalov
No.14 Roberto Bautista Agut
No. 16 Casper Ruud
No.17 Alex de Minaur
No. 18 Cristian Garin
No. 20 David Goffin
No. 22 Milos Raonic
No. 23 Jannik Sinner
No.28 Dan Evans
No. 30 Stan Wawrinka
No. 33 Reilly Opelka
No. 34 John Isner
No. 35 Borna Coric
No. 42 Adrian Mannarino
No.43 Dusan Lajovic
No.44 Filip Krajinovc
No. 46 Sebastian Korda
No. 48 Federico Delbonis
No. 51 Benoit Paire
No.54 Richard Gasquet
No. 58 Nick Kyrgios
No. 61 Vasek Pospisil
No.75 Guido Pella


Latest News