Facebook Social Button Twitter Social Button Follow Us on InstagramYouTube Social Button Follow Me on Pinterest
MagazineNewsBlogsLive ScoresTV ListingsTournamentsVideosInstructionRankingsPlayersPodcasts

By Adrianna Outlaw | Friday, December 8, 2017


Svetlana Kuznetsova's streak of 16 consecutive Australian Open appearances will end next month.

Photo credit: BNP Paribas Open Facebook

Svetlana Kuznetsova’s Australian Open is over before it began.

The 32-year-old Russian will miss the Melbourne major while recovering from surgery to her left wrist.

Watch: Bouchard, Super Bowl Date Reunite

The withdrawal ends Kuznetsova’s streak of 16 consecutive Australian Open appearances.

A three-time Melbourne singles quarterfinalist, Kuznetsova partnered Alicia Molik to win the 2005 Australian Open doubles title before joining forces with Vera Zvonareva for her second Australian Open doubles crown in 2012.

The 12th-ranked Russian underwent wrist surgery in early November and did not expect to play the year’s first major.

“I had two injuries in my wrist, so I had to do the operation,” Kuznetsova told Russia’s Sports Express in an interview last month. “There's a very complicated diagnosis. I'm still recovering and the doctor does not talk about specific dates when I can start training and play. Australia, most likely, I will have to miss.”


🤗🤗🤗 нет слов ,чтоб описать, как мир ушёл из под ног ..🤦🏼‍♀️

A post shared by Svetlana Kuznetsova (@svetlanak27) on

China’s Zheng Saisai will also miss Melbourne due to a right knee issue.

Meanwhile, Australian Oepn tournament director Craig Tiley said he expects Novak Djokovic, Andy Murray, Stan Wawrinka and Kei Nishikori will play the tournament, which begins on January 15th.

"We have been in regular contact with Andy Murray, Kei Nishikori and Stan Wawrinka, who are all set for the Aussie summer," Tiley said in a statement. "They will all have lower rankings meaning there’s a real chance we’ll finally see a breakthrough from one of the rising stars like Alexander Zverev, Dominic Thiem or David Goffin."


Latest News